Who we are

Founded in Brussels in 1983, CEPS is Europe’s leading independent ​think tank on EU affairs,​ with an exceptionally strong in-house research capacity​ and an extensive network of partner institutes throughout the world.

Our team comprises approximately 60 researchers and 18 support staff from 23 nationalities as well as an extensive network of partner institutes.

For more information about us, please visit our website: www.ceps.eu

What is Ideas Lab?

The most high-profile annual event on policies of the European Union

The aim of Ideas Lab is to provide a high-level intellectual forum for exchanges concerning the wide range of current and pressing issues faced by the EU. The discussions are open, insightful and impactful, with the active involvement of policymakers, researchers and representatives from industries and the civil society.

The Gathering of Top Influencers in EU Policies

Past editions of our flagship event saw the participation of thought leaders such as Kristalina Georgieva, Pascal Lamy and László Andor; European Ministers the likes of Didier Reynders and Ylva Johansson; Jean-Claude Juncker, Pierre Moscovici and Carlos Moedas of the European Commission; prominent MEPs such as Philippe Lamberts and Eva Kaili, as well as world-renowned thinkers – Ivan Krastev and Andrew Moravcsik.

A unique platform for thinking ahead for Europe

Of course, our aim is not to be the mouthpiece of policymakers. Which is why our guests come from all over Europe and beyond, from all sectors, and from both practitioners and academics. Our aim is for CEPS Ideas Lab to be the unique platform outside the established channels to question commonly-accepted policy positions and look for new approaches to meet the challenges faced by Europe and the world.

Past editions

Seeking Immunity: Europe in a Post-Covid World

31 May – 04 June 2021

Europe’s Next Stage 

05 – 06 March 2020

Europe’s Choice

21 – 22 February 2019

Europe – Back on Track

22-23 February 2018

CEPS logo_coloured

© 2022 CEPS